PDA

View Full Version : Lee crimp .223 problem :(

sandman_sy
10-23-09, 03:22
So, i recently bought some bullets that has bullet cannelure... and as i've read in some threads, if we reload this.. it should be with a crimp. and Lee factory die crimp has been a favorite for some shooters. so i went ahead and bought one.

Lee Factory Die Crimp for 223.. upon inspection it looks exactly like the ones i see on youtube. so i went ahead to reaload.. and i took one of my reloads.. just to try if i can put a crimp on it. But to no success... i felt it had no pressure when you raise the shell holder. so upon further inspection.. i took out the die and dropped the ammo in.. and to my surprise the ammo went all in the die, it somehow answered my question why there was no pressure.

The rear side of the ammo was leveled with the bottom part of the die..

anyone experienced this?? any suggestions as to why this is?? I'm a newbie on crimping so maybe im missing something....

Ttwwaack
10-23-09, 04:48
With the die in the press, raise the shell holder to just touch the bottom of the die. While looking down at the top of the die you should see 6 lines/cuts going from the center hole out the wall of the die. Slowly adjust the die tighter, 1/8-1/6 of a turn and bottom out the shell holder without a cartridge in it so that the shell holder pushes the center sliding cartridge support into the die. You'll know it is working when you see the collet close up looking down frm the top. Adjust to your liking. Too tight and it will deform your bullet. Greg

I know it is kinda rough but it is late. If the directions and my guidance don't help, some will be by in a few hours that could explain it alittle beyter.

rocket56
10-23-09, 10:54