PDA

View Full Version : new CCW

woody d
10-23-09, 14:24
i recently let my Glock 26 go, as i was in a bind and thought i wouldnt really miss it. well guess what, i do. lol..... i have carried glocks and sig autos for 8 years now, and want a little advice. if you had to choose between a subcompact glock/M&P/XD, what would you go with? i prefer the 9mm as i have ALOT of ammo stockpiled. i have no experience with the others (M&P n XD), and im a little leary to go with something new, but ive heard good things about them. what do ya think?

Littlelebowski
10-23-09, 14:37
Only one answer. M&P C 9.

eagle5
10-23-09, 14:46
If you already have familiarity with the Glock 26, why not get another to replace the one you previously had?

Otherwise, I would opt for the M&P9c.

decodeddiesel
10-23-09, 14:54
I'll have to agree with The Dude, and Eagle5.

I have been carrying my M&P9C with a thumb safety daily for 7 months. The pistol is (for me) ergonomically superior to the G26, and easier to shoot, yet conceals just as easilly.

Size wise the M&P compact falls somewhere between a G26 and a G19. I prefer to use the pinky rest on my magazines which makes the grip length a little longer, but really isn't an issue with compromising conceal ability given the way I carry.

The only things I have done with the pistol is add Warren Tactical night sights. I have fired about 3000 rounds (mixed 115 FMJ and 147 JHP), and gone through 3 holsters trying to find the right one for me, LOL. The only issue I had was a failure to return to battery with Winchester White Box 115 FMJ ammo around 2500 rounds or so. Honestly though the gun was damn near dry as far as lube and had not been cleaned in over 1000 rounds. Also I have read others having problems with WWB as of late so I am hard pressed to hold it against the pistol. A quick tap on the back of the slide and she was up and running again.

All in all it is my favorite daily carry piece.

woody d
10-23-09, 15:12