PDA

View Full Version : I feel really lame... please be gentle!

Selftest
10-24-09, 00:45
Alright. So, I got my new BCM midlength the other day (Thanks Grant!) and I went to the range today to get her zeroed and check her function. Well, she works, apparently I don't.

I've never owned a rifle before, and I'm unsure on how to zero. I was slightly tired all day, and the weather was hell. I was on paper when I started, but I screwed with the elevation so much that I am no longer on paper when I fire.

Is there a quick and dirty way to at least get the damn thing back on paper, so I can go attempt this again tomorrow? I'm studying up on this all night, so tomorrow I shall have notes taken about how to do this.

I feel like an absolute tool right about now. Sorry for dirtying up the place with my stupidity!

Also, just fyi, trying to zero at 25 yrds with the large aperature (Troy BUIS and stock FS). My vision is corrected with glasses. Don't think this actually matters, but I thought I'd tell ya anyway.

Iraqgunz
10-24-09, 01:19
Bring the front sight post all the way down till it's flush. Set your rear sight till the aperture is center and then try again. I would set up a bullseye type target and do a 50 yd zero. With a larger target you should be able to see where the rounds are impacting.

Alright. So, I got my new BCM midlength the other day (Thanks Grant!) and I went to the range today to get her zeroed and check her function. Well, she works, apparently I don't.

I've never owned a rifle before, and I'm unsure on how to zero. I was slightly tired all day, and the weather was hell. I was on paper when I started, but I screwed with the elevation so much that I am no longer on paper when I fire.

Is there a quick and dirty way to at least get the damn thing back on paper, so I can go attempt this again tomorrow? I'm studying up on this all night, so tomorrow I shall have notes taken about how to do this.