PDA

View Full Version : Handgun for the wife

Gombey
11-01-09, 22:20
I did a search but could not find a thread for this topic. I have like one shot at getting a pistol in my wife's hands. I just would like to know what weapon the women in your life carry. I am thinking about getting a glock 19 or Taurus PT709 for her to try first.....your opinions are welcome, also if I have missed other threads may you post the links? Thanks guys

DTHN2LGS
11-01-09, 22:56
Only a few pages away.

https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=40174

Has she shot a S&W J frame? (ie. 642)

Sometimes semi-autos are harder for women, the slide moving throws them off.

Gombey
11-01-09, 23:01
Only a few pages away.

https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=40174

Has she shot a S&W J frame? (ie. 642)

Sometimes semi-autos are harder for women, the slide moving throws them off.

Thanks for the link, and nah, she has only held my .45. I am also a newb to handguns, and sadly, most of my info is from the net, that said most of the comments I have read regarding revolvers for first time shooters has not been positive.

John_Wayne777
11-01-09, 23:13
J frames get a lot of recommendations for women. Personally speaking, I don't get it.

The J frame is a great little weapon for what it is...but it's probably THE hardest handgun to master out of any on the market. It's also put every woman I've ever seen try one off of shooting the weapon. If your wife will carry something like the Glock 26 or an M&P 9C then she would be far better off with one of those pistols as opposed to a J frame as her primary.

There's nothing wrong with revolvers per se, but a scandium .357 is not something most women (or men, frankly) are going to train with.

rackham1
11-01-09, 23:35