PDA

View Full Version : Most secure hard case

patriot_man
11-10-09, 01:27
Hello guys I'm travelling soon on a plane out of state and I'm bringing the ol' AR with me. This is my first time taking an AR out of state on a plane and I am wondering what hard cases are the most secure and offer the most protection i.e. from getting stolen, being protected from drops. Thanks for all the input. :D

ICE1811
11-10-09, 01:47
PELICAN or STORM

chadbag
11-10-09, 02:02
PELICAN or STORM

STORM or STARLIGHT. Not PELICAN

(My data is not very scientific but I have had similar feedback from others: while selling Starlight at a gunshow a gentleman told me his company bought PELICAN and STARLIGHT cases for their equipment that they shipped around the country with their technicians. 30% of the Pelican cases went back every year to get fixed or replaced under warranty. None of their Starlight cases did. Not scientific but as I said I have had several other people tell me similar info on Pelican vs Storm or Starlight. Storm I believe was bought by Pelican but are still being made under the Storm name and are a different manufacturing process from Pelican cases. I have heard lots of good things about Storm cases as well.)

MarkG
11-10-09, 08:49
Definitely Starlight...

rob_s
11-10-09, 09:00
I often forget about Starlight, and then go to their site and see the prices and remember why I forgot about them!

I have a Pelican, but if buying today would prefer Storm. Truthfully though I'd be inclined to buy from whichever had the size and features I needed and the price I could live with. I think that the reason for the seemingly high number of Pelican failure reports is that they are the most common by far.

CLHC
11-10-09, 22:28
I have a Pelican cast that mostly collects dust under the bed :eek: so no real-world usage outside the home. Now these Starlight Cases has caught my interest in it though!