PDA

View Full Version : Why are Bulgy Circle 10 Mags so $$$$$ ?

RD62
11-14-09, 20:21
Hey guys, need some info from those here more knowledgeable then me.

I've been shopping around for some 30rd mags for my new Arsenal/Saiga SGL-21 that I just picked up from KVAR. I've read the AK Magazine Primer and had decided that what I needed was some Bulgarian Black 30rd Circle 10 mags, and some 30rd Chinese mags.

Well I just ordered 5 30rd Chinese mags, and was looking to pick up the Circle 10's and damn, they are like 3 times as expensive!

What's the deal? They do seem a little harder to find than some of the others, but $32 bucks a mag? Are they that much better?

I'm brand new to AK's but I didn't realize mags varied so much, or that some were so expensive. They don't seem much different (other than the metal reinforcement) than many of the polymer mags available for the AR series, and the Bulgy's are made in, well Bulgaria, where I guess I just assumed labor was pretty darn cheap.

So those of you in the know, please edumicate this poor soul. I still plan to pick some up eventually I guess, but that has definitely taken a back seat to some ammo and range time with my new AK and the Chinese mags.

Thanks!

-RD62

Toonces
11-14-09, 20:42
Because of the way an AK mag locks into the receiver using two points, the metal reinforcements are vital for a hard use mag. The only (commonly available) properly reinforced polymer mags are the circle-10s.

If you haven't reached your targeted number of mags, 8 (+ or -) combloc metal mags beats 3 circle-10s for the same price. Yes, the circle-10s are nice if you have the money.

jhs1969
11-14-09, 23:06