PDA

View Full Version : Remington 700 build, what do you think?

texas12
11-18-09, 00:54
Here’s what my build will entail.

- Remington 700 SPS 20” Barrel. Cut to 18.5” and threaded to fit
Surefire CA762SSAL/RE adapter for Surefire FA762SS suppressor.
- McMillan A1-3 (FDE) stock
- PRI 7' Full 1913 Railed Base for Remington 700 SA
- PRI 30mm Standard Rings
- Trijicon AccuPoint TR23-2 Mil-Dot w/Amber dot 30mm Tube 5-20x 50mm

I’m somewhat new to precision shooting, more of an AR junkie. I’d Love some input.

crossgun
11-18-09, 09:08
Ok here are my thoughts.

I think the Remington will work out great for you especially cut and fitted with the SF. Should do anything you want to 800 yards. You’re good with the McMillian as well. Don’t rule out Manners. I would go with the A3 over the A2 as I like the fact that it’s a little thinner or shallower at the front. Obviously you will want to get it bedded for you action. If it were I would run Badger Detachable Bottom Metal and AI mags as well. No it’s not necessary but either is the SF can and break. The mag system is very fast and convenient especially if you think you will ever shoot any sniper matches.

The PRI stuff is good I just prefer the Badgers as they are time tested and the standard.

The question I do have is why the Trijicon? What do you think they bring to the party? I would run a Nightforce 3.5-15x50 on the rig you’re describing with either the NP-R2 reticle or better yet the NP-R1 which I like more as it allows me to call my shots and correct a little more accurate. The Trijicon scope line is rather new and for that money you could buy a used Nightforce.

Now for the million dollar question. Why MILS? My assumption is as a shooter your whole scope and red dot life has been in MOA not MILS. Why learn another somewhat confusing system? The MIL guys are going to argue but they know and really understand it. 1MOA is about, 1"@100 and 10" @1000. Even 5" @500.