PDA

View Full Version : Shooting with both eyes open

Gombey
11-19-09, 19:20
Sorry if this has been asked, I tried to search for it but the search thing is not working right now.

I would like to know why is it better to use both eyes instead of just using one, or is it. And also, should I try to learn with both eyes open first? Or should I learn after I am proficient using one eye? Again, I am new to firearms, so please do not flame.

Thanks-guys

jeremy45
11-19-09, 22:51
I'd say you are better off learning to do it the right way in the first place, instead of having to change later.

Someone else can give you more specifics but one of the big reasons to shoot with both eyes open is it keeps all your peripheral vision intact. If you close one eye you block off an entire side of your vision and possibly another threat. It's also quicker, and you don't have to think about closing one eye when you have more important things to concentrate on.

Jeremy45

M4Fundi
11-19-09, 23:06
1. Why would you reduce 50% of your vision and thus 50% of the info in front of you
2. Keeps your depth perception (one eye you have almost none)
3. Keeps your ability to balance as you move
4. If you close one eye for a long period of time which the muscles were not designed for they get fatigued quickly and start to twitch. You do this for too long the twitch will switch to BOTH eyes.
5. Reduces speed of target acquisition
6. The closed eye will blur out and when you open it and need it it will not focus
7. Allows your brain to see and interpret both your sight and your target better simultaneously
8. I'm sure there are more

Shadow1198
11-19-09, 23:10
Both eyes open gives you a wider field of view so you're more aware of your surroundings. Not to mention the fact that, if you come under fire your eyes will probably bug out of your head and you may not think to close one of them to make a shot.

Mate
11-19-09, 23:20