PDA

View Full Version : Best Ankle Holster?

roadstar
11-26-09, 09:55
After 15 years of strong side carry I'm thinking there is a place for an ankle hoster for a backup. I have no experience with this type of carry. Can anyone suggest a good ankle holster for a lightweight J frame based on experience?

If a j frame Smith is not ideal for ankle carry I would be interested in other firearm suggestions. Other options I currently have are a Seecamp .32 and M&P 9C.

Thank you for any input.

kmrtnsn
11-26-09, 09:56
Galco Ankle Glove.

joe138
11-26-09, 10:05
Galco Ankle Glove. We issue a G26 and Ankle Glove to all of our Officers as back-up/off duty wear. They are comfortable and secure.

R.D.
11-26-09, 10:18
I like the renegade ankle holster. It is comfortable and concealable.

Drummer
11-26-09, 10:23
There's only one option, in my opinion and that's an Alessi or authorized reproduction, like what Bulman Gunleather makes. Nothing else is as secure or comfortable.

The Galco just plain sucks. Attaching a leather holster to neoprene that fastens with hook and loop is a horrible way to make an ankle holster. I've found that if you get it tight enough to eliminate some of the wobble, it cuts off circulation in the foot. Not a good thing.

VooDoo6Actual
11-26-09, 10:41
GALCO ANKLE GLOVE serves my bodytype well.

Of the several types I carry the S&W 640-1 works perfectly for me.

http://www.usgalco.com/HolsterPT3.asp?ProductID=1725&CatalogID=6

This is the most secure and comforatble I have found to date, of course YMMV...

Make sure it is properly adjusted as you can run, kick w/ it.

HTH...

DMR
11-26-09, 10:46
started with the Galco for my Colt Agent, but it didn't work out well for me. I found the elastic and Velcro closeure always felt like it was going to come loose.

I now use a Tauris ankle holster. Like many of the custom holsters it has a adjustable strap that wraps around the ankle. He is a retired cop in the Utica , NY area and has a preety quick turn around time.