PDA

View Full Version : Not always going to be a bloody mess?

mercop
11-27-09, 09:25
Just wanted to recount something that happened to us last week for some professional thought.

I started riding an ambo when I was about 13 (my Mom was a volly EMS Lt) in a small town. Then all the normal crap in the Army. The first responder with the PD and some private study under my Ju Jitsu instructor who was an 18D in the Army. I have always had a huge interest in trauma. Anyway here it goes.

A good example of how people that should know better don't.

The other day I got a call from school that my son had a seizure in gym class and was being transported to the hospital by EMS. He had no history.

During gym class they were cleaning up when the gym teacher turned around and saw Frank on the floor in a "full body seizure". He called a medical emergency and the principle and nurse came. He was unresponsive and nobody saw him fall. EMS transported him. Several mistakes were made.

First of all nobody timed the seizure or had a good description of the seizure activity. This is very important especially for someone with no history. Apparently nobody saw him fall, so either he seized and fell, or fell and seized. Either way he should have been placed on a backboard with a cervical collar and he was not. During a medical emergency the nurse should have pulled his information card and seen that he had no history of seizure activity. In my opinion this would have screamed possible closed head injury to a juvenile and required Advanced Life Support and not Basic Life Support that was dispatched.

Further investigation revealed that he seized, fell to the floor and struck his head, luckily only causing a small bump. Long story longer he is now considered to be epileptic (anyone who has had more than one non trauma induced seizure in their life) he has now had three and is on antiseizure meds. He scared the crap out of us but is no worse for the wear.