PDA

View Full Version : Can type flash suppressors and the BATF

FJ540MN
11-29-09, 17:21
There's lots of single chamber flash suppression devices out there right now, and all of them seem to be tested by the BATF to certify they're not sound suppressors.

Since I'm a machinist, I want to make my own flash suppressor, but what do I need to do to get the BATF to verify it's not a silencer?

Another issue here, is that my barrel was supplied a little shorter than I ordered (it's a 14.5, not 16), so I have to pin the damn thing on before it's legal. This isn't a problem in the grand scheme - but since I'm going to be prototyping, there's gonna be a couple revisions before I get there.

So how would one approach the feds on this? I don't really want to be put on the map as a weapons component manufacturer just yet. I also don't want to end up in federal pound me in the azz prison for NFA violations.

Renegade
11-29-09, 17:24
There's lots of single chamber flash suppression devices out there right now, and all of them seem to be tested by the BATF to certify they're not sound suppressors..

AFAIK the BATFE does not sound test flash hiders to determine if they are silencers or not. Not sure where you got that idea.

FJ540MN
11-29-09, 17:26
I'm pretty certain it's on Noveske's website for the flaming pig.

EDIT:

"The Noveske KX3 is classified as a flash suppressor by the BATF FTB"

http://noveskerifleworks.com/cgi-bin/imcart/display.cgi?item_id=kx3556p&cat=11&page=1&search=&since=&status=

Bantee
11-29-09, 20:07
I believe this is in reference to ban states which do not allow flash suppressors, BATFE isn't checking for noise suppression.

rutro12
11-30-09, 12:31
The Noveske KX3 looks like some barrel tuners I've seen. I guess it could or would supress the flash too. Very interesting. As long as the device is open ended like the Noveske I wouldn't worry about anyone misstaking it for a sound supressor.:cool:

FJ540MN
11-30-09, 18:47