PDA

View Full Version : Sight Speed Question

silentsod
11-30-09, 20:46
I've got a pretty stupid question to ask you all.

With the sights I currently run on my 1911 style pistol I can find it tough to focus on the front sight and it seems a little slow to pick up at times. I'm wondering if widening the notch in the rear sight or getting a slimmer front sight would aid in pick up and speed?

I haven't been shooting all too long (~8 years) and have been picking up the volume of shooting I do in the past few months so while I suspect this is the right idea I have no actual experience in the matter. If this is just an absurd idea and the answer is somewhere else I'd love to know it. I did recently put a little silver Sharpie on the front sight in order to make it stand out more for easier pick up in certain light conditions and while it helps it's less than perfect.

PRGGodfather
11-30-09, 21:10
Not a stupid question at all. In fact, your intuition is leading you correctly.

Here are a couple of sites for your information:

http://www.10-8performance.com/id14.html

http://www.heinie.com/1911sights.php

Both offer rear sights with various notch widths, for the issues you have raised.

Good luck!

gruntinhusaybah
11-30-09, 21:41
You are correct, if you are doing practical type shooting a wider rear notch will aid in being faster on your sights.
I started shooting USPSA recently and have been fortunate to have some very experienced, very skilled shooters help me and let me run some of thier gear.

Glock 34 with a Heinie rear sight with a fiber optic front was super quick and easy to shoot.

If you know anyone you shoot with who is running different setups ask them if you can try a few rounds and see what you like before you decide to buy

ToddG
12-01-09, 01:09
The ratio of front side width to rear sight notch width, relative to the distance between the two (sight radius), plays a major role in speed & accuracy.