PDA

View Full Version : Best new AR

newbie9mil
03-09-07, 08:32
Hi,
I am looking for a AR. It will be used for plinking, home defense and that I can buy it before the ban. I am leaning towards a 16 in barrel; 6 position stock; removeable handle or flat top; a solid performer. What I would like from you folks are suggestions with their reasons for your AR of choice. I was looking at kits also, due to cost is a factor. I have to keep it under $900. Thanks for your help.

nsabjg
03-09-07, 09:24
I'm not a expert but I will tell you what I did. I spent 10 years in the military(still work for the US Government, but I get paid better) and carried the M16A1, M16A1 with M203, M60 and the M16A2 as personal weapons. I wanted a AR15 that was a close to the M16A2 that I could so I had one built with a 20 barrel. I have a Cardinal forge upper with a carpenter steel bolt, contractor bolt carrier, 20" Douglas MP crome lined Wylde camber(so I can shoot 5.56 and also shoot .223 ammo with no loss in accuracy) can shot 75gr Honaday with no problem. I put the lower together myself I used a stripped lower and put parts made by a military cantractor. Love it. I paid about $700 for the rifle. You will spend more on ammo than the rifle.

rob_s
03-09-07, 09:50
It is possible to get a good reliable AR for $900, but you will need to do ALOT of research to figure out exactly what parts, pieces, and manufacturers to use.

Greenbean
03-09-07, 10:12
Hi,
I am looking for a AR. It will be used for plinking, home defense and that I can buy it before the ban. I am leaning towards a 16 in barrel; 6 position stock; removeable handle or flat top; a solid performer. What I would like from you folks are suggestions with their reasons for your AR of choice. I was looking at kits also, due to cost is a factor. I have to keep it under $900. Thanks for your help.