PDA

View Full Version : Redi-Mag ?

rocket 442
12-05-09, 15:32
just bought & sold a bushmaster ar15 with a bunch of spare parts & 1 item is a nib redimag system. never used one before & haven't heard good or bad so..... what says the experts?:confused:

Norcal911
12-05-09, 16:00
I'm not an expert like some around here but I do carry an AR daily. For my application, I'm a believer. When I need my rifle, its either in the trunk or in the rack and I'm in uniform so I don't have a chance to gear up with extra mags. With the redi-mag, when I grab my rifle, I know there are 60 rounds on board and that will be more than enough for almost all police style engagements, maybe not in the sandbox on patrol or on an ambush line, but for me its enough. Of course when I can I grab a few extra's I do but there are times when I need the rifle now and I don't have time to mess with stuff (like a felony stop). Took some getting used to as far as the manual of arms, but the clock has shown I'm much faster with the redi-mag than my previous set-up. Faster reloads and more mags available means less chance of me needing to transition to pistol. I don't think there is a faster reload out of web gear/pouches than a redi-mag reload, unless it was with a mag coupler. Mag couplers, in my limited experience with them, need adjusting occasionally, can be un-reliable, and leave one mag open to the elements or for a round to shake out under recoil. It does make the gun heavy but I'm not in the business of humping my rifle all day. Also tac-reloads take some getting used to as far as handwork and are you going to reload from a pocket or pouch, or from the redi mag, where does you partial go? Back in redi-mag or stowed? etc etc. Redi-mag works great with a BHO extension like the Magpul BAD or a Phase 5 EBR. All things considered, I will run a redi-mag on all my AR's when I get enough money to outfit them all. I give it a thumbs up-Norcal911

JSK
12-05-09, 16:31
Good kit. You need to practice.

Ak44