PDA

View Full Version : Degaussing

ToddG
12-10-09, 14:01
Let's pretend I'm not DIY kind of guy and that I have zero knowledge of electronics. Let's just pretend that.

Any advice on how to easily (and preferably inexpensively) degauss a handful of small metal parts which may or may not be pistol parts?

snafu
12-10-09, 14:24
So you may have or not,a possible magnetic firearm? Stop using steel cased ammo.:p

Stand by, to stand by, for further word ,on a possible maybe, that probably isn't going to happen. :D

BTW thanks for your site,reading through it.

perna
12-10-09, 14:26
Are you trying to demagnetize the parts?

Preferred User
12-10-09, 14:30
Your friends at Craftsman (http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_00945021000P?vName=Tools&cName=HandTools&sName=Screwdrivers&psid=FROOGLE01&sid=IDx20070921x00003a) can help you out. And rather inexpensively.

Preferred User
12-10-09, 14:33
FWIW A degausser is typically used to erase AV or other media and range from not terrible expensive (http://www.datalinksales.com/phpstore/store_pages/detail.php?product_ID=PF-211) to rather pricey (http://www.datalinksales.com/phpstore/store_pages/detail.php?product_ID=8000).

Icculus
12-10-09, 14:39
Interesting I didn't stumble on any of the less expensive ones. All the ones I saw were like $600 or more. I'm definitely not an expert but on the cheap you might could find an old trashed crt monitor, take the degaussing coil out, run about 20-30 volts AC through the coil and use that to demagnetize the parts? maybe?

larry0071
12-10-09, 14:41
We do NDE here where I work, and part of the NDE training centers on your question. The rule of thumb is this:

"Heat it, Beat it, or A/C it!"

Heat will break the field.
Vibrating or beating an object will break the field.
Applying a magnetic force with A/C current and slowly pulling the part out of the A/C field will break the field.