PDA

View Full Version : New guy - first AR build

forge
12-11-09, 10:15
Disclaimer - Yes i am a noob to the site as well as my knowledge of the AR's. I am looking to get a nice AR. I was told that Rock River was the best gun for the money..... then i found this site. I like the BCM, but dont see anyone who sells the gun already assembled - so i figured i would just build one. Have I built a rifle before? nope. But i build custom PC's, high horse powered engine, etc - so i have some mechanical skills and general common sense. I will have my build verified by a qualified armorer prior to attempting to shoot the rifle.

I found these questions and thought i would answer them......
What is your ARs purpose? Home defense, at the Training course/Range and competition (just for fun)
Is it for use at training courses? Yes
Is this AR for competition? 3gun or Hi-power? 3gun
Does your rifle have a dual purpose role? Yes
Do you just want an AR as something to show off during the holidays or because you think ARs will be banned? No
What length barrel do you want? 16-20"
Do you want a carbine (less than 18” barrel?) yes
Do you want a full size or bigger rifle? Maybe
What length gas system do you want? Midlength
How many rounds per month/week/year will you shoot? About 400 rounds per month
How much do you want to spend? Up to $1,500 without optics/light

Upper: $875
BCM BFH™ 16" Mid Length Upper Receiver Group w/ Daniel Defense LITE 9" Handguard
- (http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/BCM-16-BFH-Mid-Length-Upper-Receiver-Daniel-p/bcm-urg-mid-16%20bfh%20ddl9.htm)

or

BCM SS410™ 16" Mid Length Upper Receiver Group w/ Daniel Defense Lite 9" Handguard 1/8 Twist
- (http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/BCM-SS410-16-Mid-Length-Upper-Receiver-Group-p/bcm-urg-mid16%20ss410%20ddl9.htm)

For roughly the sme price, should i get the SS410 or the BFH?

Lower: $350
BCM Lower

Charging Handle: $45
BCMGUNFIGHTER™ Charging Handle with Mod 4 Latch