PDA

View Full Version : NEW to the WOrLd of SHooting, How To Decide Between 6.8 or .223.. Very confused..

Sean Price
12-13-09, 23:52
Greetings comrads,

I am completely NEW to the world of the AR and as yet still have not even shot one, mainly due to lack of availability amongst other things such as it NOT being permitted in 100% of the shooting ranges within an hour or two of my residence..

So I have been doing alot of reading.. and I mean alot.. mainly from books as stated before, kinda new to this whole internet craze.. but my sources have mainly been magazines.. basically anything with a gun on the cover, think: Guns and Ammo, LE and Military, Tactical Fighter, Special Weopanry, ect, ect..

There seems to be a HUGE and I MEAN huge difference in what I read there from the "proffessionals" and the "real deal" guys on the internet.. but thats for another post in the near future..

What it comes down to is this.. again from my readings.. "apparently" the 5.56mm/.223 caliber is woefully inadequate, particularly for our military in CQF, the readings bring up time and time again the whole BLACKHAWK down scenario, i.e. the fighting in the "Mogue"

anyways LONG story short... the Black Rifle is now coming in various other flavors..

Of Special note is the whole 6.8SPC caliber or something of that note..

Obviously majority of us civies will never get put to the test like our honored military does..

But moving forward with our long gun purchases,.. should we continue supporting the "weaker" .223/5.56mm caliber or should we start buying the ALMIGHTY black rifle in the 6.8 caliber and save ourselves possible headaches..

I mean I take what I read and hear with a grain of salt and ultimately research the sh*T out of something before I make a purchase(i.e. my history here, wink ) BUT...

The way these magazines read.. its like I'd be a fool to continue with the .223/5.56 cartridge and be better off with the higher stopping power of the 6.8