PDA

View Full Version : Coating a knife.

patriot_man
12-15-09, 22:51
Hey guys I have recently gotten a SOG Trident that has started to rust. No idea how as I oil my blade often with mineral oil. Anyways I was wondering once I get this rust off (Naval jelly). What could I do to prevent more rusting? I was thinking about coating it with something but as I am new to knives I do not really know what would last long. Thanks.

oef24
12-16-09, 00:21
Eezox should stop the rust.

cosmok
12-16-09, 06:20
Hey guys I have recently gotten a SOG Trident that has started to rust. No idea how as I oil my blade often with mineral oil. Anyways I was wondering once I get this rust off (Naval jelly). What could I do to prevent more rusting? I was thinking about coating it with something but as I am new to knives I do not really know what would last long. Thanks.

Try 000 steel wool and WD40 to remove the rust. I wipe blades that I'm working on down with it and it keeps the rust at bay pretty good. As far as coating goes are you talking about painting? I've used dura-coat with good success in the past. You might try tuff cloth as well.

patriot_man
12-16-09, 19:00
Try 000 steel wool and WD40 to remove the rust. I wipe blades that I'm working on down with it and it keeps the rust at bay pretty good. As far as coating goes are you talking about painting? I've used dura-coat with good success in the past. You might try tuff cloth as well.

I already have some naval jelly but I will try that next time. I am looking for a permanent ( or long lasting coating) not just lubrication. How is that dura coat lasting? I guess I will have to sacrifice the SOG logo if I do dura coat it. Are there any clear coatings for knives?

99HMC4
12-16-09, 19:11
DuraCoat works well....

cosmok
12-16-09, 21:10
http://www.lauerweaponry.com/item-detail.cfm?ID=TC12&storeid=1&image=TCC1.gif&CFID=41175476&CFTOKEN=57261534