PDA

View Full Version : Ar 10 or 15?

jnoel2279
12-26-09, 11:17
Hello Newbie here I know that the 10 is for 308 b/c of length, and 15 is for all under that. I am looking into building an ar for strictly hunting deer, and target practice(stress relief). The question is should I go with the 10 or the 15. I don't trust anything under 6.8mm(.270) for deer; know that might ruffle some feathers but that is the way I was brought up.

99HMC4
12-26-09, 11:23
For hunting I would go AR10. I use a PTR91 for Elk and Deer and it works great. You can use the AR15 for deer hunting in either .5.56 or 6.8 but I would rather be over powered than under for hunting....

jnoel2279
12-26-09, 12:16
thanks the one other question is how big can I go with a 15? the 10 is really what I want for hunting but how is the reliability of the 10 compared to the 15, I've read in other posts that the 10 malfunction more. also I can get a pse crossbow conversion for the 15 and not the 10 so I can prolong my hunting season. thanks

99HMC4
12-26-09, 12:33
AR10s are just as reliable as AR15s. The AR15 will give more upper options, its all up to you as what you want or need. If you can afford it, do both...

scottd907
12-27-09, 03:18
umm if your planning on doing a lot of hunting or target shooting(+500yds), id go with a larger round. I think it says the max range for the .223 round is 600meters(1968.5ft). i can get 1ft groups with my bull barrel ar15 at 500yds standing, im sure i could do better groups on a bench rest. But im sure you probably will never shoot at anything over those ranges. Usually when i plan on shooting over 600yds, i bring out my 7mm. Otherwise my ar15 does if at 100-500yds target shooting. But hunting, probably never shoot at anything at those distances with a ar15. if you are, its probably just to see how close you can get it before whatever your shooting at runs off. again with the larger rounds do cost more then the smaller ones.

Alaskapopo
12-27-09, 03:56