PDA

View Full Version : input on the G36

Shawn.L
12-27-09, 10:53
I have been thinking of replacing my snubby with a G36 for when the Conceal, in CC is paramount.

Anyone have any input on these?

I have heard from one person I respect that these have had a lot of trouble.

thanks

C-Fish
12-27-09, 11:41
Disclaimer, I'm not a professional, but have owned (do own) the following Glock models.
17 (have)
19 (have)
21 (have)
I've shot thousands of rounds and all (except the 36) have been reliable.

Getting back to the original question...
Glock 36.
I had one for a brief period. No matter what I did, I had consistent FTF issues.

Tried numerous different ammo and shooting styles. Sometimes could get a mag to cycle 100%, sometimes I'd have numerous failures with the same mag that had just functioned.

Sold it off...I'll stick to my 19 for EDC.

Jake0331
12-27-09, 11:45
Kicks like a mule, but carries really nice. If you're not very strong in your grip, the G36 is not the best choice for a subcompact .45. I bought mine from dtibbals and he included +1 floorplates and new springs. After adding the floorplates, it was much easier to control. I've had no negative issues, but have only had the pistol for a month and 500 rounds.

ST911
12-27-09, 12:08
The G36 is often referred to as "the Glock that isn't." They are the quirkiest of the line. I know a couple that run extremely well, but they are only shooting two particular loads. (They may run with others, but they're not being fed them.) Others are tempermental.

The early ones were the worst. As tweaks were made, later production seems to be more forgiving. IIRC, there were changes to the magazine and feedway geometry. Others can likely provide better info.

Consider the G26, a proven performer, and also incredibly concealable and size efficient.

ToddG
12-27-09, 12:13
I've never seen one that runs well.

mike benedict
12-27-09, 12:22
The magazines for the G36 are a problematic design at best.