PDA

View Full Version : Stop the world, I want off.

QuietShootr
12-28-09, 08:21
http://www.boston.com/bostonglobe/editorial_opinion/letters/articles/2009/12/28/guns_teachers_and_self_defense/

Guns, teachers, and self-defense
December 28, 2009

I AM a math teacher at Brockton High School, the site of a school shooting earlier this month.

Current school security procedures lock down school populations in the event of armed assault. Some advocate abandoning this practice as it holds everyone in place, allowing a shooter easily to find victims.

An alternative to lockdown is immediate exodus via announcement. Although this removes potential hostages and makes it nearly impossible for the shooter to acquire preselected targets, it unfairly rewards resourceful children who move to safety off-site more shrewdly and efficiently than others.

Schools should level playing fields, not intrinsically reward those more resourceful. A level barrel is fair to all fish.

Some propose overturning laws that made schools gun-free zones even for teachers who may be licensed to securely carry concealed firearms elsewhere. They argue that barring licensed-carry only ensures a defenseless, target-rich environment.

But as a progressive, I would sooner lay my child to rest than succumb to the belief that the use of a gun for self-defense is somehow not in itself a gun crime.

DOUG VAN GORDER
Quincy

vaglocker
12-28-09, 08:26
speechless I am.

Rider79
12-28-09, 08:35
Schools should level playing fields, not intrinsically reward those more resourceful. A level barrel is fair to all fish.

And this is why our country is ****ed.

HeavyDuty
12-28-09, 08:35
If that's his attitude he should be removed from his teaching position.

Yojimbo
12-28-09, 08:36
I had to read that several times and I'm still wondering if it was written in a sarcastic manner.:confused:

Maybe I'm just having a problem believing someone can be so stupid...

Alex V
12-28-09, 08:44