PDA

View Full Version : What Wolf ammo would you shoot?

2234me
12-28-09, 17:12
Newbie here with a question on the Wolf ammo. I've got my new S&W MP 15 and will be getting a case of Federal so I can reuse the brass however I would like to shoot some Wolf so I can let the casings fly and not be concerned about trying to pick it up. I've searched the data base and found allot of good information about the good and bad characteristics of Wolf and I would like to shoot some. There are several different choices and I'm not sure what would be the best of all the evils. I see there is a Zinc coated case, would that be easier on the chambering compared to the others? What Wolf would / do you shoot and do you think one is better than the other? Thanx

Jay Cunningham
12-28-09, 17:17
May as well shoot the cheapest that you can find. If you shoot steel-cased you need to be more attentive to cleaning your chamber.

rob_s
12-28-09, 18:02
I shoot 75 grain Wolf pretty much exclusively now. I got groups that were 1/2" with this ammo from my BCM 16" midlength upper the other day using a 3-9x scope set to 9x. I was pretty impressed with myself. :D

Generally speaking I'm more interested in using a weight/type that most closely mimics the POI of my critical use ammo which is Black Hills 75 grain. Perhaps not surprisingly, I used the 62 over the 55 for this until Wolf released the 75 grain, and now I use that.

RUSKI
12-29-09, 03:06
I use Wolf 9mm ( exclusively), 7.62x39, and .223
My 9mm pistols shoot the Wolf no problem, been doing it for 2 years now without one issue. One out of my three AR's owned had issues with the wolf .223 the problem being FTE, most likely due to the lacquer coating. No AK I have ever shot has had an issue with the Wolf, but any half way decent AK will eat anything its fed. The Wolf is dirty so I just pay extra attention while cleaning.

WhoUtink
12-29-09, 07:08
I shoot this