PDA

View Full Version : Winchester 115gr 9mm Personal Protection?

larry0071
12-28-09, 22:00
I went to Dicks Sporting goods today to grab some FMJ for my Glock 17 and my MP9c and saw that they had some Winchester 115gr 9mm Personal Protection 50 round boxes for 19.99. I grabbed a few boxes to try since I can't find my normal carry ammo around. I had always caried Hydra-Shock. I also got a few 20 round packs of the Horniday Critical Defense TAP 115gr 9mm ammo. I know that many here enjoy recomending the Horniday, so I think I already know that a great deal of you will like that choice, but what of the more affordable Winchester Personal Defense stuff?

Is this also acceptable carry ammunition? I am ASSuming that it is camparable to the Hydra-Shock that I had been carrying for years, would this be making an ass out of myself?

I can't afford to shoot the Horniday Critical defense often (I work for a living, but also have a wife and 3 rug-rats!) so I thought that maybe I could afford more trigger time with my carry ammo if the Winchester Personal Defense is an acceptable defense round.

Thanks for your input, I appreciate any experiance you all may have with this ammo.

Side note, I could practice with the Winchester and carry with the Horniday I suppose.

Further side note: They have UMC .223 55gr on sale in the "Mega Pack" 200 round bax for $79.95 right now. I also got a couple of those. That is pre-Obama priced and the same price that Dick's is asking for the steel cased Wolf 55gr ammo! Brass case = reloadable!

SteyrAUG
12-28-09, 22:57
So long as it is JHP you are pretty good to go.

With 115 gr. +P or +P+ is also a good idea.

larry0071
12-28-09, 23:08
I looked for the designation of +P or +P+ and do not see it marked on the box. I did dig this out of Google:

http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0BQY/is_8_48/ai_87564357/?tag=content;col1