PDA

View Full Version : Safariland SLS Vs. ALS

FishingFool
01-04-10, 14:47
Deleted

MAP
01-04-10, 14:51
Trying to decide on a new holster but can't decide on how which one. The SLS seems more intuitive but the als appears to be faster. Has anyone used both extensively?

I use a 6360 daily for 3+ years. Very fast with training and practice. I prefer it over holsters with the hood only.

Mike

NCPatrolAR
01-04-10, 15:02
I've been using the SLS for about 8 years and the ALS for about 2.5 years. I greatly prefer the ALS and find it to be a more natural motion that rolling the sls hood. The ALS is faster for me

FishingFool
01-04-10, 15:05
Deleted

Oscar 319
01-04-10, 15:05
I've used both. I prefer the ALS system. It is wicked fast, very secure and easy to learn. Best of all, it automatically locks the gun upon reholstering.

Modifications to the SLS (sentry hood) have helped defeat the front gun grab threat. BG's used to train to slap/pull the hood to disengage the retention hood.

Officers routinely neglect to secure the hoods, and under high risk/threat situations, subconsciously unsecure the holster and forget it's open. I am guilty of that.

The ALS eliminates this.

Both are great holsters.

Sproggy
01-04-10, 15:15
My duty holster has both the SLS and ALS. I find both to be very fast with practice. They also issue an off duty holster with just the ALS which is pretty close to drawing from a holster without retention at all because its so well thought out. I woulnt hesitate to use a holster with either, or both

ToddG
01-04-10, 15:27
The ALS is definitely the faster system. It is easier to learn and easier to teach. It also has the major benefit (IMO) of locking the gun every time it's holstered rather than relying on the operator to snap or close anything.