PDA

View Full Version : forward asst broke

bdub712
01-10-10, 19:12
im new to the ar scene but not to firearms. i recently acquired an m4 rifle for Christmas and had quite a few issues. i have had to replace the gas rings after about 25 rounds, which was a learning experience. now, this morning i discovered while at the range that the forward assr pawl broke and jammed the bolt mechanism. my question is...a) is this typical wear on a rifle that is so new and b) what causes a forward asst malfunction like this?

here are the particulars:
blackthorne upper
essential arms lower
tufforce rail system
bushnell mp trophy red/green optic

Don Robison
01-10-10, 19:18
It's not normal for a quality rifle properly built with quality parts. Blackthorne is neither.

Sparky5019
01-10-10, 19:25
Welcome in, sorry to hear you are having problems!

Some questions to ask about an M4 before buying:

Is it Mil-Spec (military specifies parts dimension, material, hardness)?

Have you heard of the manufacturer before and how long have they been in business (if not ask around; places like this)?

Check out the AR Gen Discussion forum and the technical forum and there are several threads about choosing manufacturers and what items need to be checked out before buying and what to do if you have already bought a suspect quality gun.

Good Luck, I hope it works out!

Also, DO NOT spend ANY more money on it before doing some SERIOUS reading here!

Sparky

Robb Jensen
01-10-10, 19:25
"Just as good as".... usually isn't.

bkb0000
01-10-10, 19:31
holy shit.. can we sticky this for a little while?

bdub... this weapon isn't going to be salvageable. i strongly suggest selling for what you can, and then taking a few weeks to read all the technical stickies here at M4C.

please dont take offense- the person who gave it to you didn't know any better, or they wouldn't have.

Griswold
01-10-10, 20:01
Do you mind if I ask how much you paid for the POS?

CLHC
01-10-10, 20:15