PDA

View Full Version : Trigger Time

Ga Shooter
01-11-10, 08:19
I have been shooting at a local IDPA club for 3 months now. I have a question about the time it takes. We shot a 3 gun match on Sat. I spent about 5 1/2 hours in the freezing cold to shoot 4 stages. We had about 40 shooters divided into 2 squads. We shot 10 rounds of shotgun, 25 pistol and about 75 rifle. It was a lot of fun so don't get me wrong but it seems as if it could move a little faster. Is this normal or is something moving it to slow? :confused:

Cold
01-11-10, 10:17
Was this match in GA? If so where at? I have an idea but am not sure they had a MG match this weekend.

It all depends on how the club wishes to handle match administration, the number of bays available to the match itself, and honestly how well organized the Match director is. There are several very good multi gun/3 gun matches in GA or East Alabama. In fact East Alabama Gun Club (right out side of Columbus) is having their Multi Gun Match Jan 31st (5th Sunday in Jan) in a few weeks, its an AWESOME match, well run, with very good shooters and great people willing to help new shooters, great bays and excellent stages.

More info here

http://www.eagunclub.com/

they have some pics and video of their multi gun match from Nov 09 on their as well.

If I can help more, please feel free to message me or post questions.

glocktogo
01-11-10, 10:43
It depends. Having run everything from local matches with 20 people to the IDPA National Championship, I can tell you that it isn't easy to run a match. The first rule is safety, then match flow and administration.

How many Safety Officers do they have? How experienced are they? Are the 4 stages in 4 separate bays that can be run independent of each other? Is it a cold range or a hot range? If a cold range, is there sufficient room to have an additional SO safely load and make ready the next competitor while scoring and resetting the stage?