PDA

View Full Version : Cadence of 4 shots

freakshow10mm
01-12-10, 00:29
Start off with I have no formal weapon training of any kind. I'm self taught. I was in one gunfight in my life and I was still a teenager and it scared the crap out of me enough to get counseling to deal with it (I was 15). I got shot at, I shot back with 20ga slugs, and I'm here, the other guys didn't make it. That's about my experience with actual experience, which is very limited compared to others here. Besides that it's been hunting, IDPA (where you're told how many shots on target) and informal blasting.

Have and watched the first Magpul Dynamics DVD several months ago. Watched it again fairly recently. Have the second one on order as of tonight.

I recall Mr Costa talking about a cadence of 4 shots but I never caught an explanation as a good or useful tactic or any rational behind it.

I was thinking it relates to ammunition capacity, but a 30rd mag doesn't break even, but a 20rd would, yet the videos show the 30s in use so that' can't be it.

Did I take something out of context with the "cadence of 4 shots"? Mr Costa shoots the cadence quite a bit in the demos he does before the students run them. I don't get it.

Jay Cunningham
01-12-10, 00:39
I wouldn't get too wrapped up in some type of set cadence or response. If you are faced with a potentially lethal threat that you cannot safely retreat from and you have entered Condition Red and the fight is on, you shoot until the threat goes away - however much that takes.

AOTTC may have been simply trying to break people out of the "standard response", that being two shots COM.

freakshow10mm
01-12-10, 00:47
AOTTC may have been simply trying to break people out of the "standard response", that being two shots COM.
Hadn't thought of that part. Makes sense though. Not everyone falls to one torso shot or even two. Perhaps he uses that as a mechanism to "bring an open mind".

Failure2Stop
01-12-10, 04:02