PDA

View Full Version : Kettlebells

Pathfinder Ops
01-14-10, 17:40
Anybody into them?

My wife got me a set for Christmas (hmm.... wonder what she's tryin to say, LOL) and I kinda like the whole theory behind them.

The problem is coming up with a good "starter" routine for indoors. Since I live in upstate NY and it's cold as hell outdoors where I would have more room to work these things.

Any thoughts?

wilco423
01-14-10, 18:16
Let me preface this by saying I am not an RKC or anything else, so take it with a grain of salt ;).

I've been using kettlebells on and off for a couple years now. I can say they are a great tool and very versatile. One advantage is they require a very little space. Depending on your height as well as that of your ceiling, you can do a lot with them.

As to any specific things to do with them: as a friend of mine says, "the swing is king." If you do nothing else, swings will up your strength, stamina and coordination. Swings primarily work the posterior chain (hamstrings, glutes, back) plus abs, and are great cardio if you don't mind them being a little monotonous.

The second exercise I would recommend is the get-up, sometimes called the turkish get-up. It's fantastic for shoulders, abs and pretty much every other muscle in your body. Once you get good at these two, there are tons of other exercises you can do.

There are some good videos on youtube about how to perform both of these exercises - but stay away from stuff that looks like its in a nice, clean gym or uses models - look for ugly guys in sweats :). I'd also recommend Pavel Tsasouline's (sp?) book Enter the Kettlebell.