PDA

View Full Version : Full Auto Question

Bobert0989
01-18-10, 01:41
I know I'm new to this stuff, but please leave out the "hate-remarks" here. I'm honestly just searching for answers...

What regulations must I look into for the state of KY to purchase a full-auto rifle? I am very interested in purchasing a LWRC M6, but can't seem to get a straight answer from anyone local about requirements to do so. I'm not worried about SBR requirements so much, as I want the midlength setup (14.5" w/ permanent hider)...

Also, how expensive is it to own a full-auto? I've heard people discussing "tax-stamps" on SBR's, but have never fully caught-on to what they were talking about. Do you pay like $200 a year to own it or something?

Thanks for any and all information! Greaty appreciated!

~Bobby

bkb0000
01-18-10, 01:53
you can only own FA weapons manufacturered and registered before 1986 as a regular guy. manfers and dealers can have demo guns, but that's whole different situation.

LWRC has only been around this decade, so you'll never be able to own a full auto LWRC. if you could get ahold of a registered drop-in auto-sear, you could install it into any weapon capable of receiving it. that's probably the way to go, but RDIASs are hard to find and very expensive.

m16 receivers, gun or not, go from $10,000-20,000.. RDIASs, if i remember correctly, usually go for a little less than that, but are basically impossible to find.

So you need to find someone who's selling theirs, and submit a Form 4 and $200 to the ATF and wait 6 months. the dealer you buy through, and/or the seller of the weapon, will be happy to give you the specifics of how to fill out the Form 4 and the proceedure for transfer.

ETA- just re-read your post... i dont know anything about kentucky law, sorry. the $200 is a one-time tax paid for the "privilege" of owning a title II weapon. the above only applies to NFA-friendly states- kentucky may or may not be NFA-friendly.

JoshNC
01-18-10, 11:02