PDA

View Full Version : AAR CCJA M4 Carbine I Course 1/16/10

lenzysa
01-19-10, 18:00
This is my first time taking one of Tom Perroni’s classes. I was a bit skeptical at first because I had never taken a one day course before. I have a few two, three, and five day courses under my belt but never a one day course. “How much quality training can I expect in an eight hour training course?” Should be interesting.

The day started at 0900 sharp at the Commonwealth Criminal Justice Academy (CCJA) classroom located in Fredericksburg, Va. Tom began by introducing himself and gave a brief rundown of his background, training, and teaching experience. You can read more about Tom’s background on his web/work page www.ccjatraining.com. We then each introduced ourselves. It was a small class with only four student’s total. The roster consisted of a contractor, local businessman, a civilian shooter with very little carbine experience, and me. After introductions we proceeded to the admin and classroom portion of the course. It was the usual range safety, weapons safety, nomenclature, field stripping, maintenance, BZO, etc… All the stuff most of us are already familiar with but good info none the less. You never want to stop reviewing the basics and the rules. After a short lunch break we proceeded to the range. Please bear in mind I am writing this from memory. So if I stumble or forget anything I apologize.

First was BZO’ing the carbine. Most of us were pretty close to zero and it didn’t take long before we proceeded on to the first drill. Again I am recalling the events form memory. We started with shooting from our backs! Yep! Lying on our backs! The premise was, “If you get knocked down, what do you do?” The answer is simple, “Fight your way back up!” From flat on your back, to sitting up, to kneeling, to standing! We did a few more drills involving multiple hits to transition drills.