PDA

View Full Version : Safest method to do a Chamber check on Hammer Gun

Pappabear
01-24-10, 01:11
With my striker handguns I am never hesitant to do a chamber check-No hammer.
On my 1911's, the hammer is back, so no hammer worries.
I am fairly new to my FNP 45 and HK45. And I am always uncomfortable doing a chamber check with those guns. I don't want to manually pull the hammer down to make it easier to slide the slide, for fear it will "drop".

Hence, my question:whats the safest way to do a chamber check on FNP and HK45's. Often, I use the de-cocker even though I am a 1911 guy when stored as HD weapon. I will run C & Locked for carry. I do not know the internals well enough to know what is the safest. Thanks in advance for the expert opinions.

SWATcop556
01-24-10, 01:29
When I had to carry a Sig 226 as an issued weapon it was the DA/SA model. I don't know if it was the safest or correct way but I started by cocking the hammer back and then doing a 1911 style press check. I then used the decocker to make the weapon ready for carry. After a while I found I could safely pull the slide back far enough to do a chamber check without having to cock the hammer and began to check that way.

Not sure on either of the pistols you mentioned as I have no hands-on experience with them. Most modern pistols have reliable loaded chamber indicators but I still like to see brass. That's just me though.

skyugo
01-24-10, 01:29
i'd say cock the hammer and put the safety on.

ToddG
01-24-10, 08:31
For a gun with a cocking hammer (i.e., traditional double/single action), I highly recommend cocking the hammer manually. If the gun has a firing pin block -- which every decent modern TDA gun has -- then there is no danger of having an AD if the hammer "slips" and drops. But cocking the hammer first means you only have to overcome the recoil spring resistance rather than both the recoil & mainsprings.