PDA

View Full Version : The original M&P

PLCedeno
01-24-10, 15:09
Here's the story: A couple of weeks ago the owner of my gun shop asked if i could draft up his Last Will and Testament (i'm an attorney). I said sure no problem, give me a few days. The cost was a token amount. When i returned i gave it to him to proof read. In the mean time i asked to see this Model 10-5 (38 special) revolver i had been eyeing for a while. I liked the concept plus some students had been requesting a revolver as an alternative to the Glocks and M&P i provide.

When he handed it to me he asked if i liked it. I said love it. He said its yours. Wow! He wanted to know if we were square re. the will? I said are you kidding? He said that though it has never been fired the box and papers are missing. Long story short the gun is mine.

I called S&W and got the Blue box you see here. After giving them the seriel #, i was told it was manufactured in 1975. I was also told that no other gun has been produced in the quantities the Model 10 has been, when the WWII Victory model is included. I dont know that that can be true considering the proliferation of the Single Action Army/Peacemakers, the 1911 and Glock 19/17 but i dont care. The original papers are on there way from S&W. The holster is the Victory model from Cabelas.

How does it shoot? Heavy trigger but alot of fun and incredibly easy to place rounds center of mass quickly. 400 rounds no issues. Wife spent more time with it than her G19 and son even put down his S&W M&P 15/22 for a whole half hour to shoot it today. I purchased A-Zoom snap caps and did a poor man's trigger job. The trigger is better now. Though its in the safe its no safe queen.

I thought some of you might appreciate this story and gun.

http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg282/plcedeno/IMG_2254.jpg
http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg282/plcedeno/IMG_2257.jpg
http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg282/plcedeno/IMG_2258.jpg

JackOSU
01-24-10, 15:48