PDA

View Full Version : Trigger Control

Sproggy
01-25-10, 13:41
Ive been shooting for a couple of years now and ive come a long way since i first picked up a gun. Ive put alot of work and alot of time into working on the fundamentals of marksmanship. Ive taken classes from LAV, Rob Pincus(thanks again), and Todd Jarrett. Im also a LEO who holds that highest honor for marksmanship that his department awards(which isnt really that impressive). That being said....my trigger control issues have got me ready to jump off of a tall building.

I use dummy rounds for ball and dummy drills constantly and I just cant seem to get past the anticipation. I also dry fire religiously and can perform a perfect press all day without ammo in the gun....but when the time comes to load up, I blow it. I put so much time into shooting that luckily Ive gotten pretty good at pulling the trigger quickly without seriously disturbing my sight alignment. But that isnt good enough for me anymore. When I put bullets into my gun its like i lose the ability to perform a slow smooth trigger press. It might start out slow, but it quickly deteriorates into some kind of mutant el snatcho press.
Im looking for ANY advice that you guys have got. Seriously..... Any reccomendations, vetted witchdoctors, or herbal supplements are welcome and greatly appreciated.

Business_Casual
01-25-10, 14:06
I have the same problem, I think it comes from being a human and setting off an explosion right next to your head.

I can only recommend, as a fellow sufferer, that you A) continue with LAV and other tier one trainers that practice ball and dummy drills at classes B) use snap caps in your magazines at the range C) when you anticipate do remedial dry fire
D) Let me know if you come up with something that works better :D