PDA

View Full Version : NEED SOME ADVICE!!

ewood160
01-25-10, 14:42
alright first off id like to say hello to everyone. im new to m4carbine.net. so thanks for welcoming me (even if u dont). but my question is:

im looking for an ar. when i was in the army, it was the standard m4. now i see all these ARs out on the market and im not sure of which direction i should be going. i was thinking about the ruger 556. are there any problems with this weapon that should make me not want to make a purchase?

i thank everyones opinions and advice!!

-eric

Thomas M-4
01-25-10, 14:59
Piston guns have bolt carrier tilt issues. Try the search function numerous threads on it.
Threads that might help you decide what you want.
https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=6642
https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=24397

Welcome to M4C

Marcus L.
01-25-10, 15:31
The M16/M4 action and direct gas impingement system(DI) is a matured design that engineers have really refined after 60yrs of military use.

Many of the newer piston driven AR designs, and other newer piston designs have had quite a few problems in many of the instructor carbine courses of fire. The M4 design is king of the hill when it comes to carbines, so naturally the internet and gun magazines are filled with manufacturers saying that direct gas impingement(DI) and the M4 design are flawed and they have something better. In reality though, many of them have their own design problems. The great thing about DI is that it takes more than a pound off the rifle's weight, and shifts the balance more to the rear for better handling. Frankly, I'd like to see a DI designs in the SCAR, ACR, and newer rifle designs.

Check out Thomas M-4s links. Very good info.....

Personally, I wouldn't go with anything short of a Colt M4(#6920).

C4IGrant
01-25-10, 15:57
alright first off id like to say hello to everyone. im new to m4carbine.net. so thanks for welcoming me (even if u dont). but my question is: