PDA

View Full Version : SR-15 trigger problem...I think.

rlgdestroyu@hotmail.com
01-25-10, 19:14
Hi guys-

Looking for any information. I have as of 3 months ago a brand new SR-15 IWS. I finally was able to take it out and sight it in this last weekend. I inserted a mag chambered a round, fired. The gun spit the shell out, and chambered another round. This is where I ran into problems. I pulled the trigger and it didn't go bang. I pulled the charging handle and let it go, ejecting the unspent round and chambering a new one. The gun fired, ejected the shell and chambered another. I pulled the trigger again and it didn't fire. I had to manually pull the bolt and release to get the trigger (I think) to reset. The firing of the round wouldn't reset the trigger. I'm new to this platform, and its probably an easy fix, wanted to get comments and advice.

Thanks

BB01
01-25-10, 21:16
What type of ammo were you using?

rlgdestroyu@hotmail.com
01-25-10, 21:44
55 grain ammo from Tactical Ammo out of Oregon. My friend had his AR with us and we ran 200 rds through his without a hitch...

Iraqgunz
01-26-10, 01:26
Where was the hammer when you pulled the trigger and it did not go bang? It almost sounds like a bolt bounce issue, if I am reading this right.

Dano5326
01-26-10, 09:33
Bolt bounce would be a problem with an auto gun, not semi. Unfortunately I have seen this exact issue with KAC sr16's.

If you pull trigger, fire rd, and trigger does not reset when released.. or if you weren't paying attention.. bolt cycled and now you have a "dead" trigger

If one waits and appropriate time and takes all safety considerations. "dead" trigger + when you pull the upper off lower and find the hammer forward, bolt locked with a live rd. = trigger group issues

unfortunately I would see this from 3-4 times a mag which was easy to figure out... or rarely... have a guy confused once every 5-8 magazines, bring me a cleared and safe'd weapon.. and try to describe the problem.