PDA

View Full Version : Question for LEOs...

Mark21
01-26-10, 16:16
I'm pretty new at the whole dad thing, stepping into the role of a stepfather to two children a couple years ago.

The other day, while my 7-year old son was having a great time playing at the park, a couple of older kids (11, maybe 12?) started to harass him after he tried to play with them (name calling, a push, etc). I was about 30 meters away when I first noticed and started to yell for my son to come over while walking towards him.

I've had bad experiences with bullies growing up -- prob explains my psychological drive to pursue weightlifting and martial arts for the past twenty years! But seeing my own son getting picked on caused an unbelievable and almost scary visceral reaction in me -- I wanted to immediately run over to start raining down hell onto these kids. Luckily, I managed to calm down and yell for my son menacingly enough (helps I'm 6', 205) to have the group scramble while my son ran back over to me.

But I'm curious... what happens in such a case if another kid or group of kids actually start a physical attack on my kid? Is it self-defense in some way if I act, or is it assault since I'm an adult and they were attacking my son and not me? Obviously I have no want to hurt anyone if it can be avoided, esp kids! So what's the best way to handle it (outside of making sure my children aren't around such idiots in the first place)? How have other dads here dealt with anything similar? I appreciate all views and opinions.

ZDL
01-26-10, 16:31

jgalt
01-26-10, 17:43
I am not a parent, but I am very close with a couple of nieces & nephews, and were they the ones in some kind of serious 'scuffle', I can only imagine how furious I would become, very quickly...