PDA

View Full Version : Question about private handgun sales

uwe1
01-27-10, 18:09
I am a resident of AZ and my bro-in-law is a resident of CA. He owes me some money and I would consider taking possession of his Beretta 92FS with a compensator to settle this debt. My question is what would I have to do if this transaction took place in CA? Would this transfer be more convenient taking place in AZ? Ideally, I would prefer not to use a FFL's services (I was told AZ residents could conduct face to face transactions without a FFL), but since we are residents of different states, a FFL is required by law, correct? Thanks to anyone who knows, I've tried unsuccessfully to find the answer searching for it.

Left Sig
01-27-10, 18:13
Has to go through an FFL in the buyer's state. Otherwise it's a felony.

spamsammich
01-27-10, 18:15
Any time I've sold a firearm across state lines, I've had to ship to a FFL holder and provide a copy of my DL.

Business_Casual
01-27-10, 18:59
COMMENT REMOVED

Irish
01-27-10, 20:03
COMMENT REMOVED

You crack me up :D

uwe1
01-28-10, 08:48
Sorry, I didn't mean for it to be a stupid question, but thanks for the reply about "going through the FFL of the buyer". I was also trying to find out who's FFL had to be used (aside from the inquiry about not using a FFL at all, sorry stupid question, I knew the answer, just wondering out loud). I reread the post and it didn't sound too good. The reason I asked is because I was told in the past, by AZ FFLs, that if both parties were AZ residents, face to face transactions could take place without a FFL. My question had to do with residents of different states.

So in this case, if I travelled to CA, while on vacation, to get it, would I still have to ship to a FFL in AZ for the transfer to take place (can't go through a CA FFL)? Alternately, if he was taking the weapon to AZ, then would we just meet up at a FFL to do the transfer? Thanks, I've never done this before.

Safetyhit
01-28-10, 08:58