PDA

View Full Version : New here, couple of questions

el_chingoton13
01-28-10, 20:12
Hello everyone, I'm a junior at Texas Tech University and I just purchased my first gun. It is a 16" BCM mid length upper and BCM lower. I'm 20 years old, and the owner of the gunshop I had the lower sent to says I need to be 21 before I can get the lower. Does this apply only to stripped lowers or what? I was a little freaked by it since I wont be 21 until late April. :confused: Also anything I should get along with the rifle to help at the range? Thanks for the help.

Edited for added question.

geminidglocker
01-28-10, 20:15
Welcome aboard. Sadly, I believe he is correct, as a stripped Receiver can be used to build an AR Pistol/Handgun.:( Is the lower stripped?

el_chingoton13
01-28-10, 20:18
Its the BCM complete receiver. That was the reason he gave for having to wait, but I wasn't sure since it's complete.

Artos
01-28-10, 20:19
hmmm...i'll have to double check this for you but I'm pretty sure stripped lowers or 'other' actions were indeed 21yrs due to the fact they can built into pistols.

too bad it couldn't be purchased as a complete gun as that would clearly be a rifle??

How's leach holding up??:D:p:D

el_chingoton13
01-28-10, 20:20
lol he's doing fine, trying to appeal his case but we'll see how that goes. I'm kinda excited for the new coach though.

Artos
01-28-10, 20:27
lol he's doing fine, trying to appeal his case but we'll see how that goes. I'm kinda excited for the new coach though.

wanna hear something great...i have an A&M hunting buddy on the same deer lease who would LOVE to have leach take over the aggie program!! Greatness...

Hey amigo...you did good on your choice with bcm. Hope you can work it out to get your rifle. Time will fly and you will be looking back and laughing at this thread in short order.

Welcome to the site!!

el_chingoton13
01-28-10, 20:34