PDA

View Full Version : Under the belt carry?

Sry0fcr
01-30-10, 22:37
Why isn't this mode of carry (between the belt and pants) more popular? Seems to have the advantages of IWB with the comfort of OWB at least from my extremely limited experience (i.e. the 6 hours I wore my Comp-Tac Infidel today). I'm new to the concealed carry world and still trying a lot of things out I can't be one of the first guys to try it out and like it.

bkb0000
01-30-10, 22:52
what IWB benefit do you get? the weapon and/or holster are still exposed.. the whole point to IWB carry is to have the weapon completely concealed within the pants below the waistline.

under belt carry probably keeps the weapon nice and snug against the body, but it doesn't conceal any better than any other OTW hip holster

John_Wayne777
01-30-10, 22:55
Why isn't it more popular? Probably because it's a pretty darn unsecure way to carry a handgun unless your belt is cinched so tight that you'll never sire any offspring. You're basically depending on the friction between your pistol and your belt to hold the gun in place...which isn't really ideal if you have to run, or have to wrestle with some dumbass who wants to hurt you, etc.

Less exotic stuff like getting into and out of the car can send your blaster clattering to the ground.

Business_Casual
01-30-10, 23:11
He he... blaster he he he...

Sry0fcr
01-31-10, 11:52
what IWB benefit do you get? the weapon and/or holster are still exposed.. the whole point to IWB carry is to have the weapon completely concealed within the pants below the waistline.

under belt carry probably keeps the weapon nice and snug against the body, but it doesn't conceal any better than any other OTW hip holster

I was referring to your second point, my thought was that keeping the gun snug against the body would aid in concealment vs an OWB belt holster but be more comfortable than having the gun holster actually in your pants' waistband. It's a compromise for sure but what isn't?