PDA

View Full Version : Noob Question about chambered ammo

mnoe82
01-31-10, 16:50
I was wondering if this is a common problem, or if it's just my rifle?

When I clear a chambered round, the bullet tip is somewhat deformed. It happens with all types of ammo. FMJ, Hollow Points, and the TAP I keep in it bedside. Is this a problem? Is there something wrong with my rifle? Is that ammo still reliable?

I try not to shoot the TAP because of the expense, but the target ammo seems to function fine.

I'm sorry if this is something I missed in my search. Thanks for your help.

mnoe82
02-12-10, 07:31
any help on this?

skyugo
02-12-10, 07:41
pretty common, the bullet hits the feed ramps and gets a little dinged up. i'm not aware of any fix for this...

mnoe82
02-12-10, 07:43
Thanks! I just didn't know if it was something malfunctioning. Im using TAP 75 with the plastic tip and the tip was pretty chewed up

JonnyVain
02-12-10, 11:28
I have no experience with either... but wouldn't that effect accuracy? Do you have M4 feed ramps on your upper, and rifle on your barrel?

http://www.ar15barrels.com/tech/feedramps2.jpg

Luke_Y
02-12-10, 14:01
...When I clear a chambered round, the bullet tip is somewhat deformed.

How deformed? Can you post a pic?

Sam
02-12-10, 14:30
Wait until you look at the primer of the unfired cartridge that was chambered and extracted. You will have another question. ;)

Artiz
02-12-10, 15:53
Wait until you look at the primer of the unfired cartridge that was chambered and extracted. You will have another question. ;)

Hehe. :D Now we play the waiting game.

Oscar 319
02-12-10, 15:54

You beat me to it. That freaks people out.

mnoe82
02-12-10, 22:35
Hahaha am I in for a surprise?

I'm going to the range tomorrow. Ill make sure to post some pics ASAP.

Belmont31R
02-12-10, 23:55