PDA

View Full Version : Carbine or midlength handguards?

Kramerica
01-31-10, 22:01
I picked up a Stag srandard carbine last January with intentions of decking it out. A year later, it is still all factory. I figure the first thing I should do is upgrade the handguards and get flip up iron sights then upgrade to better optics when I have the money. The only problem is I can't make a decision. I'm a college student so money IS an issue. I'm debating between getting carbine length handguards or get a low profile gas block and get mid length. I really like KAC handguards but they unfortunately do not come in med length. I'm self admittedly a beginner when it comes to ARs so be aware. If your vote comes down to ascetics, so be it. I also don't need the top of the like stuff. I have read how free float handguards are most solid, but for my purposes I don't think it will matter, any optics will end up on the upper. Just wanted to get some input which can maybe put sway a decision and get the ball rolling so my AR isn't bone stock anymore.

smokey0118
01-31-10, 22:18
midlength would give you more room to mount goodies and allow you to get a better extension on your support side. it would be really badass if you got a spectre gas block and got a standard rifle-length handguard. I recently put a YHM diamond series mid-length handguard on my DTI middy/tactical innovations bdx lower build. i'm very impressed with the fit and finish and size of the barrell lug. it's also nice to have basically one solid rail up top to move optics around. i'm considering getting the uper milled to truly have one continous rail up top. the only gripe is that it's a little bulk and screams out for ladder rails to hold comfortably. Daniel Defense could be another good company to go for but they're a big boost in price. for the money YHM is hard to beat. look into a spectre gas block and full-length rail system...they're the bees knees nowadays.