PDA

View Full Version : An Introduction and a few questions: AR content

Beretta
02-01-10, 20:54
INTRODUCTION

Hello all.

I'm a southerner who is new to this forum. I joined because I need input on my Ar-15 build and wanted to be on a forum full of good information. I couldn't post yesterday until I was approved so I poked around the forum a bit. I'm still learning where to post what appropriately so mods please move this to the correct place if I posted in the wrong section. :)

AR BUILD

I am working on an Ar-15. I have a Roggio Arsenal lower and am debating on the upper. I thought about gas piston for the clean factor but I have shot standard configuration before and I regularly clean my guns after shooting anyway.

I am considering doing some three gun with some friends but the gun as I see it is a Medium/long performance, second home defense weapon.

What I was thinking about doing:
I plan on shooting 55gr bullets so I'm going to go with a 1/8 or 1/9 upper 14.5"-16" mid length gas system, threaded flash suppressor, flat top.
*Timney Trigger (3lb or 4lb) with lower kit ex. http://global-tactical.com/poftimney...trigger-1.aspx
Sights:Troy DOA folding rear site/M4 front folding (maybe tritium)
Sling:URBAN ERT http://store.urbanertslings.com/2point-modular.html

Future additions: Either the Nightforce 1-4x24NXS or a Trijicon.

UPPERS IN QUESTION

Rock River Arms Elite CAR A4/Mid Quad Rail
LAR OPS 4 SPEC Carbine w/quad rail
Olympic Arms LTF (heard some people don't like this company but checked this rifle out at the SHOT Show and it seemed alright, but that's why I am posting here)
LWRC nice upper but not wanting to fork over a grand for the upper :(
LaRue Tactical
Noveske
BCM

CONCLUSION/FINAL QUESTIONS

Thanks so much for reading...hope I didn't type to much. I know you all have more experience with AR's than myself. Please feel free to post other uppers I should consider.

What upper do you have?
Chrome lined or not?
Why did you choose your upper over another?