PDA

View Full Version : Which pistol would you carry in a non-permissive environment?

dookie1481
02-02-10, 03:29
My friend works at a place that forbids concealed carry. However, he recently expressed his apprehension about spending roughly a third of his waking hours unarmed in a city of 2 million people. He asked me what he should carry if he absolutely cannot get caught. I have no experience with smaller guns, so I figured I would ask here. Any suggestions?

Jay

bkb0000
02-02-10, 04:52
glock 26s are excellent deep-concealment guns, but it's all about the method- which depends on clothing and climate. i wear pull-on boots, and have kept a Keltec p32 with "pocket clip" installed clipped to the inside of my boot. EXCELLENT for concealment, no so excellent for access. the same gun would fit into my vest pocket, but i generally kept it in the boot as a BUG or even BUBUG.

if his clothes permit, a .38 j-frame in a pocket can be very concealed, but still a good caliber and easy access. i still BUG a .38 in my vest pocket sometimes.

i haven't seen anyone sport one in a long time, but belly-bands were popular for a while.. PPKs, keltecs, LCPs, maybe even a glock 26 should all work find completely tucked under a shirt.

if you're not going to be sitting much, and especially if you wear a jacket all day (again, climate), you can conceal some pretty big guns in the small of the back- glock 26 easily.

just some stuff off the top of my head.. hopefully helpful.

ETA.. for what it's worth- I might be a little ballsier about some things that most, but i wore a 1911 in a pancake holster on my strong-side hip, with a long jacket, for a no-carry job i had in college. worked fine for almost 2 years.. never got busted.

ChicagoTex
02-02-10, 05:45
he recently expressed his apprehension about spending roughly a third of his waking hours unarmed in a city of 2 million people.