PDA

View Full Version : USGI Colt Magazines Question

brian0128
02-06-10, 23:44
Anyway, I have a question about 16 of them. I'm confused about magazines produced after the ban. Can I sell these or even legally own them. They are new Colt magazines with a green follower and the numbers on the side are 33710 9-03. That tells me they were manufactured in 2003. They are also stamped with the Gov't LEO use only on the side.

I don't need them and was going to sell them, but I don't want to break the law. I haven't been on any forums or anything since I've been overseas since January of 2004. I tried searching, but I'm relatively new to the internet.

rngrq
02-07-10, 01:32
This post screams "FRAUD, WASTE, AND ABUSE!" Do your unit, the Army (or whatever service you're in), and the U.S. Taxpayer a favor and turn that excess US Gov't property in to your unit supply so that they can be used by those in your unit that needs them, or further re-directed to troops who need them most.

Regardless of how you "found" them, those are US Government property! If you are still in, you need to turn in all "excess" to your unit supply immediately! GIs are typically only issued 7, so legally, you should turn in 73.

An individual GI does not need 80 mags. I'm still in a active duty infantry unit and currently deployed. The Army supply system works, but is slow. My unit could've used that 73 during train-up for deployment.

I, like most of you, am also a taxpayer. My unit had to local purchase magazines for deployment (big picture: taxpayer's $$$); many troops spent their own money.

Again, do everyone a favor and turn them in (for the benefit of the military -> 73 mags = 7 troops) versus sell them (benefit for your wallet).

ATW!

Cerberus
02-07-10, 01:52
I, like most of you, am also a taxpayer. My unit had to local purchase magazines for deployment (big picture: taxpayer's $$$); many troops spent their own money.