PDA

View Full Version : First AR-15, choices choices...

Sarge133
02-07-10, 01:59
Hey everyone, first post here.

Well I am currently a college student with a minimum wage job that only makes enough for food and bills. However, I have a rebate check from the extra financial aid coming.

It will probably be around $1200.

However, just last week, I enlisted in the US Army for MP. So, I have a nice enlistment bonus plus regular pay. With me most probably going to be living in an apartment off base (or on, still kind of confused how housing works) eating military meals, and no girlfriend or wife at the moment. I will have alot of extra pocket change.

So, what should I do? Pick up an AR-15 now and trick it out with the money from the military? Or wait to get the high-end FTW rifle?

I've basically come to a few choices.

Buy now:
S&W M&P-15T
Colt LE6920
Daniel Defense DD-XV Carbine (Currently in the lead)
BCM M4

Wait for Mil pay:
KAC SR-15 E3
HK MR556
LWRC M6A2
FNH SCAR 16S (I know not an AR-15, but it's better than the cockpunch the ACR was...)

I think thats all, but I will update if I think of any others.

Now, onto accessories I plan to put an EOTech 553 or 555 infront of an Eotech 3x magnifier. Always enjoyed the EOTech reticule over Aimpoints, but I will admit, I have not shot with an ACOG.

As for everything else, a surefire or compareable light and the standard assortment of Magpul accessories.

I have done alot of research into this, I just have hit a roadblock in my thought process and cannot get past it.

Feel free to question me and provide suggestions. I will answer all questions to the best of my ability.

Thank you guys for taking the time to help a college kid out.
-Sarge

platypusREX
02-07-10, 02:15
Get the 6920. It should be on the other list with the Bushie, Stag and such. It is not in the KAC, LWRC price league.

brian0128
02-07-10, 02:15