PDA

View Full Version : On the M&P series pistols...

Slater
02-08-10, 07:14
Have yet to even handle one of these but the near universal positive reviews say it's a winner.

I know that there have been some minor teething problems that S&W has worked to overcome and by all accounts these have been (or are being) addressed. Looking at all three calibers (9mm, .40, .45), has any one seemed to be more trouble-free than the others?

RogerinTPA
02-08-10, 07:36
I haven't had any problems with my M&Ps in those calibers with 3 to 4k on each weapon. The 9 and 9c gets shot the most due to cost.

D.O.A.F.S.
02-08-10, 10:01
Do your self a favor and find someone that has one and try it before you buy. Before I get flamed for this being my first post and taking shots at the M&P, I'm not a professional, just an average joe that likes to shoot. I always wanted a 45 and loved the way the M&P45 felt in my hand compared to the others( glock,xd,etc) but was SUPER disappointed after I shot it. The trigger was horrible and the slide release impossible to manipulate with your thumb alone. Everyone says these all improve with use, which they may, but IMHO they should be alot better out of the box. I have since put an Apex sear in and took a stone to the slide relaese and notch in the slide and this has made a huge difference. The more I shoot it the more I like it but my initial impression was not good.

CaptainDooley
02-08-10, 10:19
Not to discount what you said - but your issues with it were apparently easy fixes... I agree, the M&Ps should just come with the Performance Center sear - but they don't and the APEX is a quick change out. To me it was worth it to get add a couple parts to get the benefits of the M&P system...

M4arc
02-08-10, 10:25