PDA

View Full Version : Am I “thinking” right b4 I buy an $$$ AR?

ucrt
02-09-10, 01:01
Is my “thinking” correct before I buy a high dollar AR…?

I have finally sold my lower tier AR’s, saved my coins, and now I want to purchase two new AR’s. Two because “one is none and two is one”. My wife took the phrase to heart, so I’ve got to move quick! I want an AR for home defense, SHTF, attending a Carbine Class, just general shooting and plinking.

I have been shooting my whole-life but only messing with AR’s just over a year. I have bought 5 AR’s in the past year and as I learned what makes a good one, I’ve sold them off one at a time. Sold the last one Sunday.

I managed to shoot about 1000 rounds through my AR’s in the past year. So, only shooting a 1000 AR rounds, I’m far from an expert but I have studied (not just read) on the internet, manuals, CD’s and talked to countless people trying to triangulate my “thinkings” into some halfway intelligent non-kool-aid drinking thoughts.

I am certain I can use some enlightenment, so please feel free. I intermix the words I “think” and I “want” but they are just both my opinion, so, let me know if my “thinkings” are somewhat on the right track…be gentle…

For a civilian, I think an AR is really a 200-yard (or less) range weapon. I shouldn’t be in a situation where I’ll be shooting everything that moves out to 500-yards but I could be in a situation where I have select targets at 100-yards in my neighborhood…like say, a pack of rabid coyotes??

An AR should be light and easily handled. It should be extremely reliable and be made of the best components available. You should be able to shoot it with open sights off-hand at man sized targets at 50-75 yards and supported out to 150-200 yards. It should not bother you to scratch it.