PDA

View Full Version : Weight: Carbine versus Middy

Jitterbug
02-10-10, 11:04
Forgive my ignorance if this is a stupid question, I'm a newb, but I'm going back and forth between AR's and one of my deciding factors is weight...does a Mid length upper weigh more then a carbine? Any specifics?

I've been considering a BCM middy with plastic hand guards. Versus a Carbine length...if I can find one. 16" barrel.

Cincinnatus
02-10-10, 11:15
I know the middie is heavier than the standard carbine of same barrel length, assuming both are govt. contour, but I don't know by how much the middie is heavier. Most middies drop the M203 notch, not sure how much weight that can really add. It would almost seem that a middie would be light since the skinny part of the barrel under the handguards is extended a little farther than on a carbine length system, but alas, when lifting a middie in one hand and a carbine in the other, there is a significant weight difference detectable.

bkb0000
02-10-10, 11:27
assuming a fixed front sight post, the added weight comes from the handguard. mid-length handguards are going to be about 27% heavier than carbine handguards from the same manfer in the same style. if youre using plastic handguards, this is inconsequential.

other variables can exist, like the regular availability of barrel profiles between carbine and mid... most of the middys out there are "medium," which is a little heavier than the common "govt" profiles found on a lot of carbine 16s... but these are totally controllable variables.

Cincinnatus
02-10-10, 11:47
Not to get off topic, but is the BCM standard 16" middie government or medium contour?

Amicus
02-10-10, 11:57
Not to get off topic, but is the BCM standard 16" middie government or medium contour?

Their literature states both the regular and the BFH midlengths are "gov't."

bkb0000
02-10-10, 11:58