PDA

View Full Version : Marketable skills

Hoss356
02-18-10, 17:00
I love the fact that after serving my country for 8 years as a navy firefighter I get out to find that I have no marketable skills, not even in civilian firefighting! I should've been a G-----mn Jarhead, at least I'd have desirable experience for law enforcement or security and had more fun while I was in.

Don't mind me guys I'm just venting, as the bills are piling up and I'm not good at this college shit.

Business_Casual
02-18-10, 17:10
I suppose you have rejected the idea of rejoining and getting an MOS that would transfer to the civilian world?

M_P

Hoss356
02-18-10, 17:19
I'm 31 and kind of wanting to plant roots up here in washington. I've served my time, 4 deployments, achieved the rank of E6 in 6 1/2 years, been there done that. I just wish I had more show for it other than good stories.

Irish
02-18-10, 17:36
My best friend was an AB in Crash & Salvage for 8 years and was able to go to the hot shit Federal Fire Academy in Texas. He recently passed away at 34 years old and was unable to pursue his civilian dream of becoming a firefighter but this could be an option for you as well if you were to reenlist and get it in your contract, just a thought. FYI - We both did our first 4 years on the Lincoln based out of Everett and did a yard period in Bremerton getting kicked out of every bar in town :)
At the fire academy.
http://img297.imageshack.us/img297/7259/lfa7d865a1d86ddc7bf61c3.png (http://img297.imageshack.us/i/lfa7d865a1d86ddc7bf61c3.png/)
http://img203.imageshack.us/img203/5922/l57ced041df8342a7059655.png (http://img203.imageshack.us/i/l57ced041df8342a7059655.png/)

High Desert
02-18-10, 17:48
A word of encouragment.
You do have marketable skills.

1. You know how to show up to work everyday, ontime.
2. You know how to follow direction.
3. You know how to do it right the first time.
4. You know the importance of team work.