PDA

View Full Version : Recommend me a reloader

marh415
02-20-10, 13:02
I thinking about starting to reload my .223, what is a good reloader to start off with? It doesn't have to be a multi stage loader, just something reliable and not to expensive.

marh415
02-20-10, 13:19
Oh no... posted in the wrong area!

tracker722
02-20-10, 14:51

Thomas M-4
02-20-10, 15:10
I am new to reloading also.
I bought a used RCBS rock chucker kit and was going to pick up a trimmer, primer tool, and powder thrower the ones that came with the kit are in bad shape but everything else was good. I have a 5 gallon bucket full of .223 brass I have cleaned, deprimed and sized half the bucket so far which has led me to the conclusion that I will need a dillon 550 if I ever want to be able to blast 500++ or more rounds a month. Really depends on how much you want to shoot if its a couple hundred rounds a month most single stage kits will do. If you are wanting to shoot more then you might want to look at a progressive.

silvery37
02-20-10, 15:52
You can get by with a RCBS rockchucker. I use it for my precision ammo and it works very well. If you are shooting more than 400-500 rounds a month using a single stage press will get old. You will end up spending more time reloading the ammo then shooting it. If you want to be efficient at all using a singe stage press you will need some sort of powder drop. I only weigh every charge for precision rifle stuff.

I have a Dillon 550B. If everything is moving smoothly I can crank out 100 rounds of pistol in 15 minutes. It is just a little longer for rifle. Rifle takes a little more work because you will need to eventually trim the brass. I have never trimmed my 9mm brass and reuse it until I lose it.

I just recently tried loading some precision rifle rounds with the Dillon. I am using tac powder and 77smk. I am going to shoot them this weekend and see how consistent they are.

Fire_Medic
02-20-10, 16:05